Isle of Man TT RacesFuelled by

TT winner beaten

Thursday, August 30, 2007
Ryan Farquhar, preparing to lead away the Supersport field at the Centenary TT

TT winner Ryan Farquhar had to settle for second place in a record-breaking race around the famous Isle of Man Mountain Circuit.

He finished 42 seconds behind regular TT competitor Roy Richardson in Wednesday’s Junior Classic Manx Grand Prix. Richardson was untouchable throughout the event, taking five seconds off the 2003 lap record set by Jason Griffiths from a standing start.

He took another second off his new lap record on the second circuit, with an average speed of 102.79mph. Richardson decided against refuelling and went on to record a dominant win.

Farquhar, who won Monday’s Senior Classic MGP in record-breaking style, fared better than fellow TT winner Ian Lougher – he retired in Sulby on lap one.

The Junior MGP, held on Wednesday afternoon, was won by Derek Brien at an average speed on 118.027mph. He finished 65 seconds in front of Mats Nilsson.

The event was overshadowed by an accident involving 23-year-old Irish rider Shane Connor. He crashed at Alpine Corner while lying second and was airlifted to Noble’s Hospital.

He is reported to be in a ‘serious but stable’ condition.

Related Products