Isle of Man TT RacesFuelled by

Racing legend elected new president of TTRA

Thursday, January 28, 2010
Phillip McCallen (Alan Armstrong)

Multiple Isle of Man TT winner Phillip McCallen has been elected as the new president of the TT Riders Association.

Speaking in the latest TT Newsletter, the 11-times TT winner said he will be doing everything he can to help the organisation continue its important work.

Now retired from an illustrious racing career – which included becoming the only person to win four TT races in a week – McCallen runs a successful bike dealership in Belfast.

He follows an impressive list of racers as president of the association, including Geoff Duke, Mike Hailwood, Stanley Woods, John Surtees and Joey Dunlop. The TT Riders Assocation, is a charity which provides financial support to injured riders and their dependants as well as looking after the comforts of the elderly and infirm.

McCallen told the TT Newsletter:

‘The work that the organisation does is a really important part of the TT itself and I’ll be doing everything I can to help.’

TTRA secretary Frances Thorp adds:

‘We’ve got a president who is a real legend on the Isle of Man.’

The full story and more information about the TTRA is in the latest TT Newsletter, which is available to download now.

Download the January 2010 TT Newsletter

Related Products