The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to TT 2025

Meetings 1991 - 2009

TT 2005

2005 brought a change to the classes in the TT - the Formula One became the Superbike, Production the Superstock and the Junior the Supersport. Only the Sidecars and the Senior remained ‘untouched’.

Morecambe’s John McGuinness gave Yamaha a marvellous 50th anniversary present by taking his 1000cc R1 to victory in the first ever Superbike TT. He led from start to finish at a record six lap average speed of 124.124mph to win his seventh TT.

Although he didn’t quite break his own outright lap record of 127.68mph, the popular Lancastrian eased up in the later stages to win by well over half a minute. Second was Ballymoney rider, Adrian Archibald (Suzuki) with Lusk’s Martin Finnegan third on a Honda, making it three different makes of machine in the top three.

Kiwi Bruce Anstey snatched a dramatic win in the inaugural Superstock TT as his teammate race leader Adrian Archibald ran out of fuel at the Bungalow on the last lap. There was another late change, when Ian Lougher forced his Honda past Ryan Farquhar to snatch second place by 1.09 seconds.

Ulster based Welshman, Lougher went one better in the Junior Supersport Race A, taking victory by 23 seconds from Superbike winner John McGuinness, with another Welshman Jason Griffiths, from Ramsey third.

The large Irish road racing fraternity had something to cheer about when Dungannon’s Ryan Farquhar took victory in the second Supersport 600cc Junior TT and Lifford’s Raymond Porter finished third. Farquhar led virtually all the way to finish 14 seconds ahead of Ramsey’s Jason Griffiths, who set the fastest lap of the race at 122.54mph on his last lap.

Heavy machine mortality accounted for both TAS Suzukis, both factory supported Hondas and the TT outright record-holder’s Yamaha.

John McGuinness rode a trouble-free race to claim his first ever Senior TT success in fine style. He led the six-lap event from start to finish, breaking the Senior lap record from a standing start with a sensational speed of 127.326mph. After 226 scintillating miles, the margin of victory was over 14 seconds over Ian Lougher in second and Guy Martin third, in only his second year at the TT.

The two Sidecar races were divided between the Manx crews of Dave Molyneux/Daniel Sayle and Nick Crowe/Darren Hope. Moly took his number of wins to 11, and set the first sub 20-minute Sidecar lap.

On the opening lap of three in Race B, the Regaby pairing took just 19 minutes 44.38 seconds, a speed of 114.683mph. His second lap was even faster at 19m 30.49s equal to 116.044mph. Slowing on the final circuit, to 19m 51.52s only 113.996mph to win his eleventh TT.