The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to Classic TT 2021

Meetings 1991 - 2009

TT 2009

John McGuinness won his 15th TT when he took victory in a record-breaking Dainese Superbike race, also claiming the outright lap record en route. The HM Plant Honda rider saw off the challenges of both Conor Cummins and Steve Plater to come home 18 seconds clear of team-mate Plater with Guy Martin completing a Honda 1-2-3 in third.

With Honda celebrating their 50th anniversary of racing it proved to be a memorable day with them filling the first five places, Hutchinson and Johnson taking fourth and fifth, the former overhauling the latter with a strong final lap of 129.428mph, his personal best.

The victory by McGuinness meant that he moved ahead of Mike Hailwood’s total of 14 wins, and is now second outright only to the late, great Joey Dunlop on the all time winners’ list.

In a record-breaking day, Dave Molyneux took his 14th TT race win when he clinched victory in Monday afternoon’s 3-lap Sure Sidecar race, the first three-wheel win for Suzuki. Partnered by Daniel Sayle, Molyneux seized control of the race on his A&J racing Suzuki when early pace setters Nick Crowe and Mark Cox stopped at Greeba Bridge on the second lap and, once ahead, he cruised home eventually taking the win by 53 seconds. In a day of firsts, Phil Dongworth and Gary Partridge and Simon Neary and Stuart Bond finished second and third, the first time they’d stepped on to the TT podiums.

Hutchinson won a dramatic Relentless Supersport race one, after long time race leader Bruce Anstey was forced to retire towards the end of the final lap after his bike had a broken wire at the back of the amplifier which stopped charging the battery.

Anstey had a ten-second lead going into the fourth lap but was reported to have stopped at Brandywell and Hutchinson grabbed the opportunity with both hands, coming home just under seven seconds clear of Martin and Keith Amor with Honda again filling the top 5 places.

Hutchinson made it two wins in the day when he won a sensational Royal London 360◦ Superstock race on his Padgetts Honda, defeating Martin by 8.77 seconds. That doesn’t tell the whole story though and for the majority of the race the race lead was never more than one second with the first lap alone seeing four different leaders whilst the lap record was smashed repeatedly. The race also saw Jenny Tinmouth become the fastest female ever to have lapped the Mountain Course when she lapped at 116.483mph on her final lap, beating Maria Costello’s 2004 lap by 17.72 seconds.

Michael Dunlop won a delayed second Relentless Supersport race on his privately entered Street Sweep/Marlow Construction Yamaha, leading from start to finish, following in the footsteps of father Robert and Uncle Joey as a TT winner. The 21-year old stole an early advantage in the damp conditions and was never headed, coming home 31 seconds ahead of Bruce Anstey (Relentless by TAS Suzuki) and Conor Cummins (McAdoo Kawasaki).

The electric bikes competing in the one-lap TTXGP, the world’s first clean emission eGrandPrix, brought the pioneering spirit to the Snaefell Mountain Course.

In the Best Buy Pro Class, UK/India based team Agni with rider Rob Barber took first place with a time of 25 mins 53 secs and an average speed of 87.434 mph. In the Open class US based electric motorsport with rider Chris Heath was the winner with a time of 34 mins 17 secs and an average speed of 66.022 mph.

Plater took a highly dramatic Senior TT race, taking control after early race leader McGuinness was forced out on the fourth lap with a broken chain.

The Morecambe rider had smashed his four-day old outright lap record with a second lap speed of 131.578mph; the fastest ever lap seen on the Mountain Circuit, and appeared to have the race in the bag until he stopped at Cruickshank’s. Plater, second throughout having also broken the 130mph barrier, took over and came home 19.54seconds ahead of Manxman Cummins, the third rider to officially lap at more than 130mph, with Johnson taking his first podium in third.

Ian Lougher ended his 2009 TT on a high when he took a 125cc-250cc double down at the Billown circuit, near Castletown. The Barnes/Jackson Racing rider took a brace of wins and a pair of seconds to wrap up the overall victories and add two more TT wins to his total. Michael Dunlop and Barry Davidson were second and third overall in the 250cc class whilst Roy Richardson and William Dunlop occupied those positions in the 125cc category.