The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to TT 2024

Meetings 1971 - 1990

TT 1984

1984 saw the re-introduction of the Production race, while a three-lap Historic race was held on the Mountain Circuit.

Burly Rob McElnea was the star of the 1984 races, completing a memorial double for the British based Heron Suzuki team.

In a superb Classic battle with Honda-mounted Dunlop and Suzuki teammate Grant, he upped the lap record to 117.13mph - he had to go that quickly to win the race!

Dunlop was the early pace setter, but Grant led at the end of the second lap, with McElnea third behind Dunlop. McElnea fought back and led Dunlop by ten seconds going into the last lap. He maintained that advantage to win a superb race between three of the TT's greatest riders.

Dunlop looked to have the Senior sewn up on his three-cylinder two stroke Honda. On his fifth lap he smashed the absolute lap record, averaging 118.47mph, to head McElnea in a titanic battle. Rob had led twice and raised the record on his second lap before Dunlop's record-breaking effort. On the last lap Dunlop ran out of fuel, leaving McElnea a relieved winner from Dunlop's Honda team-mate Roger Marshall and Suzuki mounted Trevor Nation.

Marshall had the cheek to lead Dunlop, albeit briefly, in the TT Formula One race. Dunlop had the upper hand at first on the booming four-stroke Honda, from Marshall and Ducati-mounted Tony Rutter. On the fifth circuit Marshall grabbed the lead, but on the last lap Dunlop upped the pace, setting a lap record, to win.

Australian Graeme McGregor not only won his first TT, but also completed a double within the space of a few hours. In the morning he won the six-lap Junior on an EMC, fighting off the Yamahas of Mellor and Charlie Williams and the Honda of Dunlop. Williams finished second with Brian Reid third on another EMC.

In the afternoon McGregor switched to Yamaha power to end Ritter's three-years hold on the TT Formula Two event, setting new lap and race records in the process.

Geoff Johnson won the 1500cc class of the Production race on his Kawasaki, while Nation and Helmut Dahne fought a great duel in the 750cc class. After three hectic laps Honda-mounted Nation won by just 2.2 seconds. Mellor won the 250cc class after a tremendous race with Gary Padgett, Manxman Graham Cannell and journalist Mat Oxley.

Dave Roper became the first American to win a TT with victory in the 500cc class of the Historic race, riding a Matchless, while Steve Cull took the 350cc class on his Aermacchi.

Mick Boddice continued his winning ways in the Sidecar class, leading the first leg from start to finish after Ireson slowed on the opening lap with mechanical problems. Dennis and Julia Bingham were second once again, with Steve Abbott and Shaun Smith third.

Retirements made the headlines in the second leg, with Boddice, Ireson, Bingham and Greasley all dropping out. Steve Abbott took full advantage to win from Ulsterman Lowry Burton, with Dave Hallam third.