The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to Classic TT 2021

Meetings 1991 - 2009

TT 1993

Ducati-mounted Mark Farmer led the Formula One TT at the end of the opening lap with what was to be the fastest lap of the race - 120.58mph.

He was three seconds ahead of Nick Jefferies with Phillip McCallen, who had been fastest in practice despite the shoulder injury he sustained at the North West 200, in third.

However, Farmer struck trouble on the second lap and came into the pits in fourth place with rear sprocket problems and retired.

Jefferies led by 5.6 seconds from Steve Ward who had a 0.2 second lead over McCallen. At half distance Jefferies led by seven seconds and continued to increase his lead to 15.2 seconds at the chequered cloth, scoring a popular first TT win from Phillip McCallen and Steve Ward, who took a terrific third place. It was ten years since Nick had won the Senior Manx Grand Prix.

Jim Moodie had topped the practice leader board in the Supersport 400 class, followed by fellow Scot Iain Duffus and 1992 winner Brian Reid - all on Yamahas - with the highest placed Honda rider, Ian King in seventh place.

At the end of the first lap practice form was confirmed as Moodie led Duffus by 15.2 seconds with Reid a further 15 seconds down. Moodie, with a new lap record at 112.40mph on the second lap, still led Duffus, but Steve Linsdell took third place from Reid.

The Glaswegian gradually increased his lead over the last two laps to win his first TT by exactly one minute from Iain Duffus with Linsdell filling the final podium place.

Moodie made it two wins in a week when he took the win in the Supersport 600cc race from Bob Jackson and Simon Beck in what was a start to finish second victory.

Joey Dunlop rewrote the history books with a start to finish victory in the 125cc TT, taking his total of TT wins to 15, one more than Mike Hailwood. Younger brother Robert was second throughout and veteran Bob Heath held third place all the way. Joey's race win was at the record speed of 107.26mph.

Brian Reid scored his fifth TT win in a start to finish win in the Junior TT, followed home by Jim Moodie and Joey Dunlop. Phillip McCallen who, in a close dice on the road with Dave Milling, completely forgot his pit stop and eventually ran out of fuel at Ballacrye caused the only drama.

Phillip McCallen on the RVF Honda won his first Senior TT when he took the honours in the race delayed from the Friday to the Saturday because of bad weather. Lapping at over 120mph from a standing start he led fellow Ulstermen Mark Farmer and Joey Dunlop. F1 victor, Nick Jefferies, Simon Beck and Robert Holden, with Robert Dunlop having retired at Crosby, completed the top six.

McCallen's lead was up to nearly half a minute at the end of lap two, this time from Joey, as Farmer had retired at Hillberry out of petrol, and with Robert Holden retiring at Ballacraine there was a shake up on the leader board - Nick Jefferies was now third, followed by Steve Ward, Simon Beck and Jason Griffiths.

The only change on the leader board at half distance was that Beck took fourth place from Ward. Joey Dunlop had a slight problem with oil on the machine and dropped to fifth place at the end of the fourth lap, as McCallen's lead went over a minute from second placeman Jefferies. Next of the leader board men to retire was Simon Beck , whose race finished at Glen Helen.

Phillip McCallen's week ended on a high note with victory from Nick Jefferies by 45 seconds, as Steve Ward scored another magnificent third place from Jason Griffiths, Ian Simpson and Johnny Rea, with a slowing Joey Dunlop taking 11th place.

Hopes of a 'local' victory were high in the Sidecar races as Dave Molyneux and Karl Ellison were fastest in practice, faster than 1992 double winner Geoff Bell and Keith Cornbill.

One of the favourites, Mick Boddice and passenger, went out on the opening lap when the engine blew on the descent to Creg-ny-Baa. Molyneux led at the end of the lap by 0.4 seconds from Dave Saville with Eddy Wright in third place. The Manx pairing set a new lap record on the second circuit at 21 minutes 42.6 seconds - 104.27mph and now led Saville b 42.2 seconds. Wright remained third.

Both Molyneux and Saville lapped at over 103mph on the final circuit, the Manxman winning by 25.4 seconds. Dave Molyneux and Karl Ellison completed a Sidecar double, the first ever by a Manxman with another start to finish victory, this time over Eddy Wright/Peter Hill and Richard Crossly and Moly's future passenger Colin Hardman.