The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to TT 2024

Meetings 1991 - 2009

TT 1994

Steve Hislop made a welcome return to the TT in the Formula One race and topped the practice leader board on the new RC45.

It was a dramatic start to the week - when riders set off on the Saturday afternoon the roads were dry, but by the time they reached Ballacraine the roads were completely wet and the visibility on the Mountain was poor.

Most of the riders stopped at the end of the first lap to change to wet tyres, but a couple, Nigel Davies and Bob Jackson who had started on non-slick tyres, went straight through.

The race was stopped at the end of  the second lap, riders were paid lap money, and the race was re-scheduled for 2pm on Sunday.

The day dawned fine and at the end of the first lap Hislop, with a lap of 121.79mph, led Phillip McCallen by 21.8 seconds with Robert Dunlop in third place. Steve increased his lead to 23 seconds at the end of lap two. There was no change on at half distance and Hislop's lead was up to 26.4 seconds.

Then drama struck on lap four, when Robert Dunlop crashed heavily on the exit from Ballaugh Bridge, due to the rear wheel collapsing. He was flown to hospital with serious arm and leg injuries.

At the end of lap five Hislop was 36.2 seconds ahead of McCallen as Joey moved into third place. Steve Hislop went on to win his tenth TT at 119.54 mph from Phillip and Joey.

Jim Moodie won his fourth TT, the Supersport 400, by over a minute from Steve Linsdell and David Morris, then went on to win his fifth, the newly introduced Singles TT.

Moodie and Robert  Holden tied for the lead at the end of the opening lap, but three laps later took the chequered flag by eight seconds, with Jason Griffiths third.

Joey again rewrote the history books with a start to finish victory taking his total wins to sixteen in the Ultra Lightweight TT.

After topping the practice leader board, it was no surprise when Phillip McCallen led the Junior TT at the end of the first of the four laps from Joey with Ian Lougher third. Brian Reid replaced Lougher for third next time round, but it was 'status quo' at the end of the penultimate lap with McCallen holding an 11 second advantage over his fellow Ulsterman.

Then the drama for which the TT is well know struck on the last lap when Phillip McCallen ran out of fuel at Brandywell - so Joey notched up his 17th TT victory by 25.6 seconds from Brian Reid as Jason Griffiths took third place.

The Supersport 600cc race brought Iain Duffus his first TT win after a tremendous race, as just 2.2 seconds separated the first three after the first 37.73 miles. Ian Simpson led Jim Moodie and Duffus. Lap two saw the 1993 winner Moodie in the lead by 3.6 seconds from Duffus and Simpson in an all-Scottish 1-2-3.

Jim Moodie's lead was short-lived however, a spill at Black Dub ending his race. The lap three leader was Iain Duffus, Ian Simpson as Phillip McCallen filled the remaining podium spot. Duffus took the chequered flag by 9.4 seconds with a new race record of 115.30mph from fellow Scot Ian Simpson, as Steve Ward took yet another third podium place punishing McCallen back to fourth.

After the cancellation of the Formula One race, the weather improved dramatically and the Sidecar Race A went ahead on time. After breaking the lap record unofficially in practice, Rob Fisher and Michael Wynn led at the end of the opening lap from last year's double winner Dave Molyneux, with new passenger Pete Hill in the chair. Nine times winner Mick Boddice was third.

With a new lap record at 106.49mph on the second lap Fisher increased his lead further. The final lap and Rob Fisher, a newcomer in 1993, took the honours at a new record average speed of 105.71mph and by 24.6 seconds from Dave Molyneux with Mick Boddice senior third. Mick Boddice junior made his debut with Chris Hollis in the chair and finished 17th.

Rob Fisher completed the Sidecar double, the third year in succession that has been achieved. Molyneux and Boddice were once again second and third.

Steve Hislop completed yet another double when he took victory in the Senior TT on the RC 45 Honda from Phillip McCallen and Joey Dunlop. Steve recording his eleventh and final TT win.