The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to Classic TT 2021

Meetings 1991 - 2009

TT 1995

Changes to the race programme for 1995 saw the Junior TT being allocated to 600cc machines, replacing the Supersport 66 Race and the Supersport 400s were included in the Lightweight TT which was 'back to basics' and 250cc machines.

The Formula One TT proved to be a battle between Ulsterman Phillip McCallen, who had been quickest in practice, and Joey Dunlop.

At the end of the first lap McCallen led Joey by 3.9 seconds with a lap at 120.85mph, but Joey retaliated on the second circuit to lead Phillip by 0.7 seconds. At the half distance McCallen was back in the lead with a 23.3 second advantage over the Ballymoney man.

The order remained the same at the end of the fourth lap, with an increased lead up to 35.4 seconds. On the fifth lap Joey was 27 seconds faster than Phillip and the lead was down to 8.2 seconds. However Phillip McCallen held on and crossed the line to win  by 18.1 seconds from Joey, with Simon Beck grabbing a fine third place.

Runner-up in the Singles race in 1994 Robert Holden went one better in 1995 to take the win by a minute and a half from David Morris with Steve Linsdell third.

Mick Lofthouse topped the Ultra Lightweight practice leader board, with Joey Dunlop, winner for the past three years, in second place. But drama struck on the first lap when Joey retired at the Hawthorn - so at the end of the lap Mick Lofthouse led James Courtney by 8.6 seconds with Mark Baldwin third.

Lofthouse had a five second lead over Courtney at half distance with Baldwin only a tenth of a second down in third place. Starting the final lap Lofthouse still led Courtney by 5.6 seconds with Baldwin now 8/10th of a second behind in third.  Mick Lofthouse finished the race first, but Mark Baldwin was really flying and with a record lap at 109.01mph snatched victory at the flag by 0.6 of a second, with James Courtney finishing in third place.

Joey Dunlop made up for his disappointment in the 125cc race by going all out in the Lightweight 250cc and collected win number 18 by 25.5 seconds from James Courtney and Gavin Lee with a record race speed of 115.68mph.

The Junior TT, which now catered for 600cc machines, provided a second TT win for Scot Iain Duffus from Nick Jefferies and Colin Gable.

Duffus had a lead of 13.1 seconds over McCallen at the start of the fourth and last lap. Phillip really went for it on his final circuit, but over cooked it at the Waterworks and slid off - gifting the race to rival Duffus, who set a record speed of 116.58mph.

The two sidecar races again provided a double victory for Cumbrian Rob Fisher, a newcomer back in 1993 and now a four-time winner, this time with Boyd Hutchinson in the chair.

The 1994 double winner dominated practice, but a Thursday afternoon spill at May Hill could have been costly. However, with the help of Dave Molyneux the outfit was ready for the start of the race. Fisher on the second lap set a new lap record at 107.16mph and completed the third lap to win by 47.2 seconds from Mick Boddice, with Geoff Bell third.

In the second sidecar race Fisher again re-wrote the record books. His opening lap was a new lap record at 107.67mph and he increased his lead on each of the three laps to finish at an average speed of 107.58mph - the fastest ever Sidecar Race. Dave Molyneux and Pete Hill were second and Mick Boddice with passenger Dave Wells third.

The question prior to the Senior TT was whether the Ducatis of Iain Duffus, Robert Holden and Simon Beck threaten the Honda dominance?

Joey Dunlop, on his Honda, led at the end of the first lap from Iain Duffus by 1.4 seconds, who had a 1.9 second advantage over Simon Beck. Robert Holden was fourth with the Hondas of Nick Jefferies and Steve Ward completing the top six.

The top six remained the same at the end of lap two, and it was still close with just eight seconds covering the first three. Joey and Iain were still first and second at half distance, but Nick Jefferies had moved up to third, Simon Beck was fourth, Steve Ward fifth and David Goodley (Kawasaki) took sixth spot. Robert Holden had slid off at the exit from Governors.

Joey led Iain by 35 seconds at the end of the fourth lap, Jefferies was still third, followed by Ward, Goodley and Beck. The top five held their places at the end of the penultimate lap, with Chris Day on another Kawasaki took over sixth place with Beck slowing to eighth.

Joey won his nineteenth TT, at 119.11mph, from Iain Duffus by 33.5 seconds and with the fastest lap of the race on the final circuit Steve Ward took third position from Nick Jefferies, David Goodley finished fifth and Bob Jackson (Kawasaki) snatched sixth from Chris Day.