The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to TT 2023

Meetings 1951 - 1970

TT 1957

The Golden Jubilee of the TT in 1957 could not have been celebrated in better style when Scotsman Bob McIntyre at last smashed that 100mph barrier.

The crowd went wild when the speed was announced, and McIntyre went on to win the race from the MV of John Surtees and his Gilera teammate Bob Brown.

McIntyre had warmed up perfectly for that historic Senior by producing his first TT victory, again for Gilera, in the Junior.

Only a crash on the very last bend of the Clypse Course, Governor's Bridge, prevented Sammy Miller winning a TT race. Riding the works Mondial, he looked odds-on to triumph in the ten-lap Lightweight when he fell with the finishing line almost in sight.

He remounted and pushed in to take fifth. His teammate Cecil Sandford took full advantage to win easily from the MV's of Taveri and Colombo.

Hard riding Italian Tarquinio Provini won his first TT with an impressive performance in the ten-lap Ultra Lightweight race.

The outcome of the ten-lap Sidecar race was predictable, BMW's filling the first three places. Fritz Hillebrand won, smashing race and lap records on the way. Walter Schneider and Florian Camathias completed the whitewash.