The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to TT 2023

Competitor Profile: Dave Molyneux

TT Career Summary

No of times178512119

View Full Results


Manxman Dave Molyneux, now a 13-times TT winner, after scoring an unexpected double in the Centenary event, first entered the Sidecar Races in 1985. It was his fifth race in 1987 before he received the chequered flag in 10th place. 1998 saw him improve to 6th in the first of the two sidecar ‘legs’ once again retiring in the second. The following year, Dave with passenger Colin Hardman, achieved their first victory over the 37.73-mile course. In the second of the races the pair took 3rd place. 1991 brought a D.N.F and further 3rd position, whilst ’92 gave Dave and Karl Ellison sixth and third finishing positions. The same crew in 1993 achieved a double victory, whereas twelve months later with new ‘chairman’ Pete Hill double second positions were gained, pipped to the post both times by Rob Fisher and Michael Wynn. “Moly” and Pete Hill were non-starters in the first race of 1995 – the reason lack of time to prepare his outfit, due to excessive demand on his engineering skills requested by his rivals! They were on the grid for the second race, eventually taking second place once again to Fisher, this time with Boyd Hutchinson in the chair. 1996 proved that Molyneux and Hill were becoming the ‘new masters’ of the Snaefell Mountain Course, once again taking a double victory and increasing the race record to 110.28 mph as they took the chequered flag in the second race. Missing from the TT in 1997, 1998 proved to be an unusual year, as the first side race was abandoned without an engine being fired in anger, due to the weather. With Doug Jewell as ‘ballast’ in less than ideal conditions, they powered their Honda supported outfit to the number one spot on the podium in the ‘second’ race. 1999 saw Craig Hallam as passenger, winning the first of the two races at record speed [111.90 mph] and setting a new lap record at 112.76 mph. Dave and Craig were out of luck in the second race, retiring from the action, but not before once again setting the fastest lap of the race at 112.41 mph, marginally below the outright lap record. Missing in 2000, as Dave and Karl Ellison entered the world championships, Molyneux was due to once again challenge the rigours of the Mountain Course – although all the effort was to no avail, the 2001 races being cancelled due to the foot and mount epidemic. 

Sixteen-time race winner Dave Molyneux, heads the field and is number 1 on the grid for 2014, with Patrick Farrance again his partner. The duo won both races in 2012 but had to settle for second and third places last year and will be looking to get back to winning ways on their DMR Kawasaki.

Photo Gallery

If you would like to contact us about this database entry please email

Related Products