The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to TT 2024

Hickman rockets to 135mph in PokerStars Senior TT

Friday 08 June 2018
Peter Hickman. Photo Dave Kneen / Pacemaker Press Intl

Peter Hickman took his second win of TT 2018 in a dramatic finish to the fastest ever Isle of Man TT Race.

See full results

The Louth rider paced race leader Dean Harrison until Ramsey Hairpin on the final lap of the race.

At the Bungalow his advantage was just 0.8 seconds but Hickman held on to take the win by 1.9 seconds and smashed the lap record -  less than a week old - to record the first ever 135mph lap.

Hickman's 16:42.778 lap pushed the bar to 135.452mph - a huge leap on the lap record as it stood coming into TT 2018: 133.962mph.

Dean Harrison's second place might not have been full reward for a race which saw him lead for 33 of the 36 sectors but the Bradford rider, who earlier in the meeting became the first to lap at 134mph, was philosophical about the result. Speaking to Manx Radio's Chris Kinley about catching backmarkers on the run to Ramsey Harrison said "It's just the way the cards fall and I can't be disappointed with a win, and four podium finishes".

Conor Cummins took the third runner place with a new personal best lap and, once the first lap was out of the way, barely a foot wrong. In the post race press conference he told Manx Radio TT's Chris Boyde that after missing a few apexes on the opening lap he'd had to shout at himself in his helmet, but that he'd got his head down, smoothed out and had a very enjoyable ride to third place.

Newcomer Davey Todd recorded a brilliant ninth place finish and a best lap of 128.379mph to become the second fastest newcomer of all time (after Peter Hickman) and cap a near flawless campaign with the privateers trophy.

Related Products