The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to TT 2024

Four Timer for McGee at Tandragee 100

Tuesday 07 May 2019
Road Race Rankings
Supersport Tandragee McGee & McLean 04/05/19 Pacemaker Press Intl

Reigning Duke Road Race Rankings Champion Derek McGee continued his 2019 campaign collecting his second ‘Man of the Meeting’ Award at the conclusion of the Around A Pound Tandragee 100 Road Races taking four race wins out of five races, taking second in the fifth behind ‘arch-rival’ Derek Sheils.

The Mullingar Missile opened his ‘Tandragee’ Account with a 0.312 of a second win in the Rapid International Supersport race from Adam McLean, with Derek Sheils taking third.

The Dublin man turned the tables in their next encounter, the McCrum’s Motorcycles Open race, Mr. Sheils having a 0.456 of a second advantage at the chequered flag, with Adam McClean filling the final podium spot.

Derek McGee’s second victory came in the Tayto Supertwin race, which was red flagged after Adam McLean came off his McAdoo Kawasaki and sustaining injuries which saw him being taken to hospital and although his injuries are not serious, he is likely to miss the first of the International road races, the North West 200. With the result being declared at the end of the third lap of the planned six, Michael Sweeney was second and Neil Kernohan third.

Derek McGee claimed his hat-trick in the City Autos Moto3 race, heading home Gary Dunlop and Kevin Fitzpatrick.

On his N J Doyne / McGee Racing Kawasaki, he scraped over the line by 0.195 of a second ahead of Derek Sheils in the Around a Pound Tandragee 100 Grand Final as Michael Sweeney took third

Guy Martin marked his return to road racing in the classic race with a win on his BSA Rocket in the 1000 class, while Dean Stimpson bagged the overall win with by over two seconds on his 500.

Barry Davidson took the 350cc honours and Brian Mateer the 250cc.
Andy McAllister won the Senior support race from Darren Keys and Darryl Anderson.

The Junior Support race was won by Kevin Baker from Eoin O’Siochru and Vinny Brennan, whilst Paul Williams won the Lightweight Supersport (400cc) race from Darryl Anderson and David Howard.

Derek McGee remains in the number one position in the Duke Rankings with 624 points, some 311 ahead of new second place man Derek Sheils, who now has 313 points.

Michael Sweeney climbs 10 places to third on 268 points, as Adam McLean slips from second to fourth with 243 points to his credit.

Paul Williams advances three spots to fifth, with 2018 Classic ‘winner’ Barry Davidson maintaining sixth position.
There are six new entries, Kevin Baker in ninth, Dean Stimpson and Shaun Anderson in 17th & 18th; Guy Martin slots into 22nd, after his Classic 1000cc race win; Mike Browne 29th and Gary Dunlop in 36th place as 100 riders have now scored points in this year’s Duke Rankings.

 1    Derek McGee    1   No change     624
 2    Derek Sheils    3   Up 1 place     313
 3    Michael Sweeney    10   Up 7 places     268
 4    Adam McLean    2   Down 2 places     243
 5    Paul Williams    8   Up 3 places    193
 6    Barry Davidson    6   No change     160
 7    Brain Mateer    18   Up 11 places    130
 8    Darryl Anderson    39   Up 31 places     128
 9    Kevin Baker    -   New entry     125
 10    Tommy Henry    4   Down 6 places    125
 11    Philip Shaw    12   Up 1 place     114
 12    Richard Ford    14   Up 2 places     111
 13    Eoin O'Siochru    19   Up 6 places     105
 14    Neil Kernohan    13   Down 1 place     104
 15    Thomas Maxwell    25   Up 10 places     104
 16    Andy McAllister    48   Up 32 places    101
 17    Dean Stimpson    -   New entry    101
 18    Shaun Anderson    -   New entry     96
 19    Kevin Fitzpatrick    23   Up 4 places    96
 18    Nigel Moore    11   Down 9 places    94

The third round of the 2019 Duke Road Race Rankings Championship is the fonaCAB International North West 200 Road Races which is celebrating its 90th anniversary and being held in the famous 8.9-mile Triangle Course on the Causeway Coast in Northern Ireland on 14th, 16th & 18th May.

(Photo courtesy of Rod Neill / Pacemaker Press Intl.)

Related Products