The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to TT 2024

Anstey, Harrison and Parsons top first qualifying session

Tuesday 20 August 2019
Classic TT
Bruce Anstey on the Milenco by Padgett's Honda RS250 at Ballacraine on Monday Evening. Photo credit: Dave Kneen / IOM Government

Senior TT winner Dean Harrison made it business as usual in Monday evening’s Classic TT qualifying sessions as he topped the leaderboard. 

Stephen Parsons set the Manx Grand Prix Junior pace in the opening qualifying session of the 2019 Isle of Man TT Festival of Motorcycling, before the practice period came to an unscheduled halt due to a red flag incident.

Mark Herbertson was injured in the incident at the Black Hut and on Monday the official Isle of Man TT Races facebook page reported he was awaiting surgery on a leg injury. 

Aside from the accident, the biggest news of the evening was the welcome return to action of New Zealand star Bruce Anstey, after an illness-enforced absence from the Course. 

Bruce, riding the Milenco by Padgett's Honda RS250 quickly topped the Lightweight Classic class with a best lap of 116.81mph.  

In the Superbike Classic class Harrison turned in a 123.42mph standing start lap, while number one starter Horst Saiger was able to improve to a very respectable 122.871mph on his second lap, with Kraus/PreZ Racing’s Jamie Coward ending the session third with 120.70mph.

In the MGP ranks, Chris Preston Honda’s Nathan Harrison's standing start lap of 115.82mph edged him ahead of JFR Racing/Steadplan Primus’ Andy Farrell at 115.48mph.

Once Stephen Parsons hit his stride on the flying lap he scaled the top of the MGP leaderboard at 118.936mph.

Roads are due to close tonight at 18:00 with the Lightweight and Superbike Classic TT machines due out at 18:20 and Senior and Junior bikes at 19:15.

Related Products