The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to TT 2024

Records tumble in SES TT Zero race

Thursday 06 June 2019
Michael Rutter leaps Ballaugh Bridge on the Mugen. Photo Dave Kneen/

Michael Rutter smashed the lap record in Thursday's SES TT Zero race, as he clinched his seventh TT race win.

Beating Mugen team mate John McGuinness by 8.9 seconds, Rutter's lap was an impressive 121.91mph.

In the winners' enclosure Michael told Manx Radio's Chris Kinley that the race was anything but easy, saying he'd pushed the electric bike to the limit, sliding into corners and feeling the wheel spin up under acceleration.

McGuinness, magnanimous in defeat, concurred with Michael's assessment of the fierceness of the competition between the pair of old friends, telling Chris Kinley "Massive respect to Michael, even though he is a lot uglier than I am!”.

Ian Lougher, a ten time TT winner who made his Mountain Course debut in 1983, was the third rider home, securing a well-earned podium spot for the Mirai with Team ILR outfit. 

Related Products