The World's #1 TT WebsitePowered by

Countdown to TT 2024

Dunlop proves a heavy hitter in thrilling Bennetts Lightweight TT Race

Wednesday 06 June 2018
Michael Dunlop wins Bennetts Lightweight TT Race. Photo Dave Kneen / Pacemaker Press Intl.

Michael Dunlop stormed to a strong win in record time on the last lap of Wednesday's Bennetts Lightweight TT Race at the 2018 Isle of Man TT Races fuelled by Monster Energy.

Completing his last circuit at 122.750mph, Michael emphatically exceeded James Hillier's longstanding record, set in 2015, of 120.848mph.

But he didn't have it all his own throughout the race. At Glen Helen on lap it was Derek McGee of Mullingar who was the - to some - surprise leader. 

Although there were only fractions of a second in it throughout the first two laps it looked like Ivan Lintin, a two time winner of the race, would be the leader at the pitstop until news filtered through he was a retirement at Bedstead.

Out of the pits Derek was once more a leader with Michael Dunlop and Peter Hickman filling the other two places. 

With Hickman also being reported as a retirement it was Michael's Paton team mate Michael Rutter who was promoted into third place. 

Taking the lead on the third lap Michael Dunlop 'pulled the pin of her' on the final circuit and extended his lead to over 14 seconds by the line. 

Derek McGee also completed his final lap inside the old record to cap a fantastic afternoon which saw the Mullingar rider take his first top ten result. 

Related Products